20
Dec
07

What this ad is really saying: Episode 1

Call me the Feminist Consumer Reports. Advertisements can be misleading in a variety of ways outside of just providing false information about their products. They can be subliminally subversive in their reinforcement of gender roles. Or blatant too, I’ve seen plenty of those. So, for the first installment I bring you…the iHome.

What this ad is really saying:

“Even YOU can be a white dude with perfectly tousled hair sipping coffee and so fully clothed you are wearing a TURTLE NECK while a naked brunette plays you some smooth tunes from your iHome as the sun sets outside your posh Manhattan apartment. Oh, and she’s going to be very happy about this and already wearing blue eyeshadow and red lipstick. Service with a smile.”

*sigh*

ihome ad

2 Responses to “What this ad is really saying: Episode 1”


  1. 1 Allison
    December 24, 2007 at 1:54 am

    Heh! I always get so pissed about ads like this and jump all over them. Wade is probably getting tired of me making snarky comments to tv shows and commercials when I find them sexist or just downright stupid. Yes, I talk back to my tv.

  2. January 4, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I know what you mean. I feel so snarky, like ALL the time. When Jason and I watch TV there will be a demeaning commercial and he’ll just turn and look at me and wait for my comment. I talk back to my TV too, and usually toss in a few F-bombs. Haha.


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 26,972 hits

